Site icon Newshub English

2023 Budget passed in Parliament by majority vote

The third reading of the Budget proposal for 2023 presented to the Parliament by President Ranil Wickremesinghe as the Minister of Finance was passed in the Parliament yesterday (08) with a majority of 43 votes,123 voted in favor & 80 against.

The final vote on the 77th Budget of Independent Sri Lanka was held yesterday (08).

During the vote on the second reading, 121 parliamentarians in total had voted in favour of the budget while 84 MPs from Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB), National People’s Power (NPP), Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), Uttara Sabhagaya led by Wimal Weerawansa and Freedom People’s Congress led by Dullas Alahapperuma voted against it. MP C.V. Wigneswaran had abstained from voting in the division on second readings as well.The debate on the Second Reading of the Appropriation Bill for the fiscal year 2023 commenced in Parliament on November 15.

President Ranil Wickremesinghe, in his capacity as the Minister of Finance, presented the Budget to Parliament on November 14.

Exit mobile version