Home Hit Basil cuts in on Sarath Weerasekara’s standpoint; SL to be divided into...

Basil cuts in on Sarath Weerasekara’s standpoint; SL to be divided into 3 principalities?


Minister of State for Provincial Councils and Local Government Rear Admiral Sarath Weerasekera has said that proposals submitted by a panel of experts to maintain only three Provincial Councils in Sri Lanka instead of the current nine, as was the case during the reign of ancient monarchs, will be submitted to the government.

Sri Lanka during the reign of monarchs was divided into three principalities, namely Ruhunu, Maya & Pihiti.

Accaording to the Aruna newspaper, Rear Admiral Sarath Weerasekera had made this assertion last Friday (11th) in Colombo while meeting with representatives of Provincial Councils and the Pradeshiya Sabhas.

Weerasekara had also pointed out that the provincial council elections would be held as soon as possible, nevertheless adding that provincial councils would exist for a long time.

Meanwhile Basil Rajapaksa commenting on Rear Admiral Sarath Weerasekara’s opinion had said that he as well as the party held their own respective views in this regard, but Weerasekara was entitled to his.

Basil Rajapaksa had further said that in the vent provincial councils were to be abolished its powers would be devolved among Pradeshiya Sabhas.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here